Weblos Scouts

Introduction to Cub Scouts | How Cub Scouts Works | Bobcat Badge | Tiger Cubs | Wolf Cubs | Bear Cubs | Weblos Scouts | Uniform Org/Financial

The Webelos program is a two-year program for fourth and fifth grade boys. In both years, they work toward earning Webelos Activity Pins in twenty different areas, arranged in five categories. Fourth grade boys work toward the Webelos badge. After earning the Webelos badge, boys work toward the Compass Point Emblem patch and up to three metal Compass Points as they earn additional Webelos Activity Pins and progress toward earning the Arrow of Light. The Webelos rank is a transitional program from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts. It helps boys to become familiar with some of the differences of the Boy Scout program so they may be better prepared once they cross over to a Boy Scout Troop.

As with all Cub Scout ranks, you must first earn the Bobcat badge to be eligible to work for this award. Also, your Webelos Den Leader will now sign off your activities (your parent or guardian does not sign off the activities as they did when you were a Wolf or Bear).

The Webelos Badge is earned by:

    1. Have an adult member of your family read the Webelos Scout Parent Guide that comes with the Webelos Handbook.
    2. Be an active member of your Webelos Den for 3 months (Active means having good attendance as determined by your den at the beginning of the year, paying Den dues, working on Den projects).
    3. Know and explain the meaning of the Webelos badge.
    4. Point out the three special parts of the Webelos Scout uniform. Tell when to wear the uniform and when not to wear it.
    5. Earn the Citizen and Fitness activity badges and one other activity badge from a different activity badge group.
    6. Plan and lead a flag ceremony in your Den.
    7. Show that you know and understand the requirements to be a Boy Scout.
  • Understand and intend to live by the:
  • Scout Oath
  • Scout Law
  • Scout Motto
  • Scout Slogan
  • Know the following and when to use them:
  • Scout Salute
  • Scout Sign
  • Scout Handclasp
  • Understand & Agree to Follow the Outdoor Code
  1. Cub Scouting Core Value “Faith”
  2. Earn the Religious Emblem of your faith —OR— Do two of these:
    • Attend the church, synagogue, mosque, or other religious organization of your choice, talk with your religious Leader about your beliefs, and tell your family and Webelos Den Leader about what you learned.
    • Tell how your religious beliefs fit in with the Scout Oath and Scout Law. Discuss this with your family and Webelos Den Leader: What character-building traits do your beliefs and the Scout Oath and Scout Law have in common?
    • With your religious Leader, discuss and write down two things you think will help you draw nearer to God. Do these things.
    • Pray to God or meditate reverently each day as taught by your family, and by your church, synagogue, or religious group. Do this for at least one month.
    • Under the direction of your religious Leader, do an act of service for someone else. Talk about your service with your family and Webelos Den Leader. Tell them how it made you feel.
    • List at least two ways you believe you have lived according to your religious beliefs.


The ARROW OF LIGHT badge is earned by:

  1. Be active in your Webelos den for at least six months since completing the fourth grade (or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old), and earn the Webelos badge.
  2. Show your knowledge of the requirements to become a Boy Scout by doing all of these:
    1. Repeat from memory and explain in your own words the Scout Oath or Promise and the 12 points of the Scout Law. Tell how you have practiced them in your everyday life.
    2. Give and explain the Scout motto, slogan, sign, salute, and handclasp.
    3. Understand the significance of the Scout badge. Know its parts and tell what each stands for.
    4. Tell how a Boy Scout uniform is different from a Webelos Scout uniform.
    5. Tie the joining knot (square knot).
  3. Earn five more activity badges in addition to the three you already earned for the Webelos badge. These must include:
    1. Fitness (already earned for the Webelos badge)
    2. Citizen (already earned for the Webelos badge)
    3. Readyman
    4. Outdoorsman
    5. At least one from the Mental Skills Group
    6. At least one from the Technology Group
    7. Two more of your choice
  4. With your Webelos den visit at least one Boy Scout troop meeting, and one Boy Scout-oriented outdoor activity.
  5. Participate in a Webelos overnight campout or day hike.
  6. After you have completed all five of the above requirements and after a talk with your Webelos den leader, arrange to visit, with your parent or guardian, a meeting of a Boy Scout troop you think you might like to join. Have a conference with the Scoutmaster.
  7. Complete the Honesty Character Connection.
    1. Know: Say the Cub Scout Promise to your family. Discuss these questions with them. What is a promise? What does it mean to keep your word? What does it mean to be trustworthy? What does honesty mean?
    2. Commit: Discuss these questions with your family. Why is a promise important? Why is it important for people to trust you when you give your word? When might it be difficult to be truthful? List examples.
    3. Practice: Discuss with a family member why it is important to be trustworthy and honest. How can you do your best to be honest even when it is difficult?